Wolfenstein: The New Order

My thoughts on…

WolfensteinTNO

Before I begin I would like to point out that I am not a fan of first person shooters. Well, with a few exceptions (BioShock and Duke Nukem 3D). I don’t like the idea of not being able to see what’s around me. I mean, an enemy can just sneak up behind you and kill you. And also I am not good with shooters. ๐Ÿ˜…ย Still… I prefer games in third person.

With that out of the way…

What if Germany won the Second World War? Wolfenstein: TNO paints a very haunting (and warped) picture of that reality. In the game, you play as Captain William “B.J.” Blazkowicz. At the height of WW II, you and a group of soldiers are sent to Deathshead’s Compound to take out General Deathshead. But, of course, it goes horribly wrong. You and your men barely escape the compound with your lives. 14 years has passed. It’s now 1960 and Germany has completely taken over the world. But what happen to Blazkowicz? Well… While making their daring (and explosive) escape, Blazkowicz ends up getting shrapnel in his brain. And it’s still in there. It put him in a vegetative state. Since he’s in this condition, he’s an asylum. It’s here you meet Anya — who has been taking care of you personally. And I do mean “personally”. ๐Ÿ˜… Blazkowicz will come out of it when he witnesses the murders of Anya’s parents and the patients by Nazi soldiers. And this begins, well, resumes Blazkowicz’s mission on killing Nazis. ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

FUN FACT: You will notice many newspaper clippings throughout the game. If you choose to read them, you will learn how much the world has changed after Germany won the war.

For you trophy hunters — the trophies are pretty easy, especially since you can replay chapters. Majority of them requires you to unlock perks. You can farm these perks in Chapters 2, 3 and 6. But I would wait until you have unlocked all weapons and their upgrades. Now if you need help unlocking every perk in the game, you just need to Google it and click on the trueachievements.com link. It’s pretty detailed on where you can farm for these perks. Of course, there are trophies that requires you to collect secrets. Watching these guides will help you find them all. Credit goes to PowerPyx for this. But they don’t cover the location for the health/armor upgrades in the game. Use this to locate each health/armor upgrade. Credit goes to gamepressure.com for the guide. Now it’s not required but I would still recommend you getting them. It comes in handy when you play this on รœber. Yup, the game has 2 difficulty related trophies. Play it on รœber and you will unlock them.

DO NOT let the รœber difficulty intimidate you. If you’ve unlocked all the perks and collected every health/armor upgrades, it’ll make this difficulty easy. And if you managed to unlock 999 mode, it’ll make รœber even easier. What is 999 mode? You will start the game with 999 health. And you will have unlimited ammo. Okay… I’ll admit you might still have some trouble playing the game on this difficulty. I mean, the enemies are tougher and they deal more damage. I died many times before completing the game on รœber. And I was playing this on 999 mode. But then again, I am not good at playing first person shooters. ๐Ÿ˜…

TIP: Once you’ve collect all the Enigma Codes, you must decipher them to unlock the special modes in games (and it will also unlock 4 trophies). In order to play 999 mode (or any mode), you must begin a new game and select “Bonus Menu”. DO NOT worry about the perks you’ve unlocked in your previous game, they carry over to the next game. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Before I wrap this up, I would like to talk about how you can unlock the health/armor upgrades in the game. I know I said that it’s optional. But I still RECOMMEND you getting them all. How do you unlock them? At the very end of the first chapter, you must choose who General Deathshead kills. If you save Fergus, you will play his timeline — which unlocks all the health upgrades in the game. If you save Wyatt, you will play his timeline — which unlocks all the armor upgrades in the game. Now you are probably wondering which one should I save on your first playthrough? I saved Fergus. I felt health was more important than armor, especially since this was my first time playing this. I knew I was going to spend a lot of time getting killed. So I think I made the right choice. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Of course, after completing the game for the first time, you must play it again and save Wyatt this time. Saving them unlock 2 trophies. It’s up to you if want to collect either one of these upgrades or both.

FUN FACT: Both timelines are slightly different. Different dialogue. A difference in one of the Resistance members. Also… If you saved Fergus, you will know how to hotwire combination locks. And if you saved Wyatt, you will know how to pick locks. In my opinion, lock picking is the best skill in game. You can unlock shortcuts by lock picking certain doors. You can finish chapters faster with these shortcuts.

OVERALL

Despite my dislike for first person shooters, I actually enjoyed playing Wolfenstein: TNO. Well, there were some moments in the game I found frustrating. And it took me a while to get the hang of the controls. Still I had fun. Its story kind of reminds me of Inglorious Bastards. I thought so, anyways. ๐Ÿ˜… There are 16 Chapters in the game. Don’t worry, though. They aren’t long chapters. You can pretty much finish the game in a day. It might take you a little longer if you’re focused on getting all the secrets. You can still probably finish this in one sitting. So, if you are a fan of the old Wolfenstein games, you should definitely pick this up. It’s cheap and it’s an easy Platinum — which is always a plus. ๐Ÿ˜‰

TIP: If you want to unlock the game’s “Special Modes”, use this to decipher all 4 Enigma Codes. Credit goes to IGN for the guide.

Now you are probably wondering if I am going to try my hand at Wolfenstein: The New Colossus. No! Absolutely not! I heard it’s a very hard Platinum. I want to enjoy playing games. I don’t want to get stressed over it. Video games are meant to be fun, right? ๐Ÿ˜ Now I might play Wolfenstein: The Old Blood in the future. But I will not under any circumstance play Wolfenstein: TNC. I am sorry if I have disappointed you. But that’s how I feel.

Well…

Since I completed Wolfenstein: The New Order, you know what that means…

Wolfenstein: The New Order…

YOU HAVE JUST BEEN SLAIN!!! ๐Ÿ˜ˆ

Number of games I have completed while Judgment is on hiatus: 10

TIP: I found there’s an easy method of defeating General Deathshead in Chapter 16. You can use this method on any difficulty. If you follow this video, you can beat him in a matter of minutes. I tried this method and it works. It made the boss fight so easy. Credit goes to WikiGameGuides for this.

 

Author: Demonslayer Ryuu

I am just a simple gamer who enjoys a good video game. I enjoy anime/manga, too.

Leave a comment